2009 Prefontaine Classic Sprint results

June 7, 2009  American Michael Rodgers set a personal best of 9.94 seconds in the men's 100 meters beating Jamaican sprinter and former world record holder Asafa Powell who finished in 10.07 seconds.  American Walter Dix finished third. 

Separately, 2004 Olympic gold medalist Dwight Phillips leaped 8.74 meters, the longest jump since 1994 and the fifth-longest jump of all-time into a headwind!  Irving Saladino of Panama finished second. 


In the women's 100 meters, Carmelita Jeter finished in a wind-aided 10.85 seconds with Jamaican Kerron Stewart finishing second in 10.90.